RESOLUTION 2000 -68

A RESOLUTION PROCLAIMING THE WEEK OF APRIL 9 THROUGH 15, 2000, AS NATIONAL TELECOMMUNICATORS WEEK.

WHEREAS, April 9 through 15, 2000, has been designated as National Telecommunicators Week; and

WHEREAS, the men and women of the Nassau County Sheriff's Office Communications Division serve as an indispensable link between our Sheriff's Deputies, Fire Fighters, Paramedics, and the public; and

WHEREAS, the telecommunicators who provide radio, telephone, and computer services to all of Nassau County's public safety units deserve to be commended for their dedication and professionalism; and

WHEREAS, each day hundreds of Nassau County citizens dial 9-1-1 for help in emergencies ranging from house fires, automobile accidents, and heart attacks, to crimes in progress; and

WHEREAS, the men and women who answer these calls for help, gathering essential information and dispatching the appropriate assistance, can often make the difference between life and death for persons in need; and

WHEREAS, Nassau County's 9-1-1 telecommunicators are a calm and reassuring voice at the other end of the phone,

who offer assistance to the caller until the responding units arrive on the scene; and

WHEREAS, because emergencies can strike at any time, we rely on the vigilance and the preparedness of these telecommunicators twenty-four (24) hours a day and three hundred sixty-five (365) days a year; and

WHEREAS, Nassau County owes a great debt to the men and women who, by applying their expertise in telecommunications, help to make our County a safer place to live; and

WHEREAS, during this special observance, we acknowledge that debt and extend a heartfelt thanks to each of them.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED this 10th day of April, 2000, by the Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County, Florida, as follows:

- The Board proclaims the week of April 9 through
 2000, as National Telecommunicators Week.
- 2. The Board acknowledges and commends the following County Telecommunicators on behalf of all the citizens of Nassau County.

NASSAU COUNTY'S TELECOMMUNICATORS

Ken Barr Summer Bidel Janie Gunnell Stacy Henderson Patrick Byers
Karen Card
Jerry Cockerham
Jofrances Cook
Paula Earick
Lou Ellen Foraker
Candance Lloyd
Shirley McCormack
Cindy Moore
Linda Ottinger
Timothy Paetsch
Glenn Palmer
Ricky Rowell

Sherry Higginbotham
Jarrett Hodges
Mariah Hold
Ann Johnson
Stephen Johnson
Joseph King
Jennifer Schmidt
Kimberly Swafford
Matt Waggoner
Theresa Walker
Lynn Wentworth
Kelly Whitley

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA

NICK D. DEONAS

Its: Chairman

DAVID C. HOWARD

J. H. "PETE" COOPER

FLOYD VANZANT

MARTANNE MARSHALL

ATTEST:

J/ M. "CHIP" OXLEY, JR. Its: Ex-Officio Clerk

Approved as to form by the

Nassau County Attorney

MICHAEL S MULLIN

h:telecommunications-week